About John Holland

John Holland is a composer and Professor Emeritus in the Studio for Interrelated Media at Massachusetts College of Art and Design in Boston. In the early 1980's, he co-founded Nature and Inquiry, an artists group that meets weekly to discuss ideas in art and science. The group has presented work at the MIT Media Lab, the Harvard Smithsonian Observatory, Habitat Institute, The Copley Gallery in Boston, to name a few. For the past 20 years he has taught a class that introduces artists to leading-edge ideas in science. In 2001 the Boston Globe reported that Nature, Science and Art was the most popular class at the College.

Music for Fixed Media


1. Light and Dark (2013) 6:41

(samples of Krzysztof Penderecki’s String Quartet No. 1 – Tale String Quartet; Franz Schubert Ave Maria – Luciano Pavarotti, Tenor, John Wustman, Piano; and accompanying electronic sounds)

2. iMusic (2011) 6:23

(recorded sounds from portable computers and computer devices, computer music, including a few segments from the early Columbia/Princeton recordings, mixed with original electronic sounds)

3. Benjamin Franklin Mixup B. F. String Quartet (as originally written for open strings) with Digital Samples and Electronics by John Holland (1778 / 2012) 6:47

1. Intrada, alla breve
2. Menuetto
3. Capriccio
4. Menuetto
5. Siciliana

The Kohon Quartet

4. Cageiana (2012) 2:43

(samples from John Cage’s Six Melodies for Violin and Keyboard (1950) No. 1 with Annelie Gahl, Violin, Klaus Lang, Fender Rhodes and Music for Amplified Toy Pianos (1960), Juan Hidalgo, Walter Marchetti, Gianni-Emilio Simonetti, Toy Pianos (with plastic cow); with hand-held percussion, nature sounds (bullfrog, yeast), and original electronic sounds by John Holland)

5. Mixed Beats for Two Keyboard Synthesizers, Digital Percussion, and Electronic Sounds (2012) 10:55

John Holland – Keyboard Synthesizers

6. Siderius Nuncius for Synthesizers, Electronic Sounds, and Signals from Space (2005) 4:18

7. Soft Listening (1980) 8:29

(quiet percussion sounds and soft resonant tones are combined with various electronic sounds to produce a quiet listening environment)

8. Visitations of J. S. Bach (Electronic Version) (2010) 15:21

(electronic music, samples from traditional works of J. S. Bach, accompanied by digitally modified photographs)